Posted in Edu, Info

Road Construction on Peat Soil

The problematic soil – PEAT SOIL (we have in Sarawak)

Road construction on peat soil may have difficulty. It is because the bearing capacity of peat soil is low and the settlement is high. Therefore we need a method to solve this problem. What is peat soil? Peat soil is a type of soil formed from the accumulation of the remnants of decompose vegetation which has high organic matter content. The characteristics are high organic content, high water content, large void ratio, high compressibility, and low bearing capacity.

This is the distribution map of soft and peat soil in Indonesia :

Distribution Map of Soft and Peat Soil in Indonesia (GeoGuide Departemen Pekerjaan Umum, 2002)

Black printed are areas of soft and peat soil. It is important to be known because there are many areas of soft and peat soil in Indonesia.

These are the actual condition of peat soil :

  1. Soil Bearing Capacity. Peat soil bearing capacity is very…

View original post 412 more words

Author:

I am a Muslim that holds on to the Islamic principles. I believe the old skool methods ; commitment>hardworking>success (even though I seldom used the shortcut method). I am not gifted but i work hard to achieve my goals. Although i failed once or twice, I am not the easy-to-give-up type. My MENTOR is my mother. My STRENGTH is my family. I can listen and talk, express and motivates my friends the most i guess. Don't love me of something i am not.

Leave a Reply

